Drumroll, please: Nominees announced for 2018 UBCP/ACTRA Awards

Drumroll, please: Nominees announced for 2018 UBCP/ACTRA Awards

On December 8, local film and television performers will laud their own at the 2018 UBCP/ACTRA Awards, the nominees for which were announced on Monday.

Awards will be handed out in five categories – Best Actor; Best Actress; Best Emerging Performer; Best Voice; and Best Stunt – to members of the Union of British Columbia Performers for work completed in the last year.

“The UBCP/ACTRA Awards will honour our best and brightest performers from a field of world class nominees,” said Keith Martin Gordey, UBCP/ACTRA President and ACTRA Vice President, in a press release. “This is a special year as we celebrate the 75th Anniversary of UBCP/ACTRA and ACTRA National. And thanks to our superlative performers, crews and locations, we've grown to be the third largest film production center in North America.”

The nominees are:


Bob Frazer, The Cannon

Patrick Gilmore, Travelers - Jacob

Brandon Jay McLaren, UnReal - Commitment

Andrew McNee, Adventures in Public School

Michael Patric, Frontier - Cannonball

Dylan Schmid, 1922

BEST ACTRESS           


Sonja Bennett, Kayak to Klemtu

Sara Canning, Prodigals

Keegan Connor Tracy, The Magicians - Season 3 - Heroes and Morons

Alexia Fast, Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency - Season 2 - Trouble is Bad

Karin Konoval, The X-Files - Season 11 - Plus One

Elyse Levesque, Orphan Black - Season 5 - The Few Who Dare

Kerry Sandomirsky, The Good Doctor - Season 1 - Islands: Part 2



Ta'Kaiya Blaney, Kayak to Klemtu

Daniel Davis Yang, Crawford - Season 1 - Manny's Oath of Secrecy

Daniel Doheny, Adventures in Public School

Taylor Hastings, The Ride Home

Ricky He, Christmas Solo

Chance Hurstfield, Ghost Wars - Season 1 - The Exorcism of Marcus Moon

Gabriel LaBelle, Dead Shack



Michael Daingerfield, Marvel Superhero Adventures - The Toys Are Back In Town - Role: The Tinkerer

Andrea Libman, My Little Pony: The Movie - Role: Pinkie Pie

Erin Mathews, Super Monsters - Borrowed Trouble - Role: Frankie

Sabrina Pitre, Chuck's Choice - Back Off Borkle - Role: Chuck

Vincent Tong, My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic - Marks and Recreation - Role: Rumble



Curtis Braconnier and Eli Zagoudakis, Arrow - Life Sentence

Brett Chan and Jeff Sanca, Darc

Brett Chan, Gerald Paetz, Andrew Chin and Mark Chin, Darc

Jon Kralt, Trevor Addie, Chad Bellamy, Adam Chase, Mark Chin, Ken Do, Lucius Fairburn, Kevin Fortin, Kevin Haaland, Zen Humpage, Cody Laudan, Brian Lydiatt, James Mowatt, Ryan Moss, Jesse Pierce, Matt Reimer, Shawn Robidoux, Chris Webb, Mike Wu, The Flash - Think Fast

Eli Zagoudakis and JJ Makaro, Arrow - Shifting Allegiances

Eli Zagoudakis, Curtis Braconnier and Will Erichson, Arrow - Brothers in Arms

The UBCP/ACTRA Awards will be handed out in a gala ceremony at the Vancouver Playhouse on December 8. Follow the festivities on Twitter at #ubcpactraawards or @YVRScreenScene for exclusive photos from the red carpet and real-time results.

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. http://www.ubcp.com.

Top photo: Keegan Connor Tracy

Giles Panton on his eye-opening ‘The Man in the High Castle’ role

Giles Panton on his eye-opening ‘The Man in the High Castle’ role

Martin Wood on the past and future of the ‘Stargate’ franchise

Martin Wood on the past and future of the ‘Stargate’ franchise